Sunday, 8 July 2012

We've made it! Now just waiting for immigration clearance.

Friday, 6 July 2012

The Sea Dragon is expected to arrive in Oahu on July 9th due to a shortage of fuel and food, instead of Maui.

Saturday, 30 June 2012

At midnight on June 23 we crossed 180, only to start June 23rd all over again.

Thursday, 28 June 2012



"We've still got 2,100 miles to go, depending how far we get East before we meet the trades. Staying around 30N still gives us wind but we do not get the full force of the lows heading above of us.

Yesterday we saw a propane tank which we were trying to recover (turned around but since it was nearly sinking we did not find it). Crew was a bit slow turning the boat around. Lots of small debri as we sail along."

Monday, 25 June 2012

Sunday, 17 June 2012

Monday, 11 June 2012

Sunday, 10 June 2012

Wednesday, 6 June 2012


Song to the Siren

On the floating, shipless oceans
I did all my best to smile
til your singing eyes and fingers
drew me loving into your eyes.
And you sang "Sail to me, sail to me;
Let me enfold you."
Here I am, here I am waiting to hold you.
Did I dream you dreamed about me?
Were you here when I was full sail?
Now my foolish boat is leaning, broken lovelorn on your rocks.
For you sang, "Touch me not, touch me not, come back tomorrow."
Oh my heart, oh my heart shies from the sorrow.
I'm as puzzled as a newborn child.
I'm as riddled as the tide.
Should I stand amid the breakers?
Or shall I lie with death my bride?
Hear me sing: "Swim to me, swim to me, let me enfold you."
"Here I am. Here I am, waiting to hold you."

Saturday, 2 June 2012

When will we arrive? -we can suggest a date, but "ultimately the sea will decide"

Friday, 1 June 2012


"Patience is a virtue"the captain Rodrigo says. Departure delayed until monday due to alternator and engine repair -which has got to be a good thing. Sunday bad weather is forecast and he does not want to start off the trip in 30 nots, knots? whatever that means -and I just found out which is starboard which may help.
There are no words to describe the devastation, seeing first hand has given more significance and emotional understanding to this catastrophic natural tragedy and ultimately our expedition. Hundreds of cars damaged lay piled up line after line, the cars who still have their number plates indicate the people still unaccounted for.


Wednesday, 30 May 2012

Saturday, 26 May 2012


The start of my journey coincides with the beginning of plastic... OIL

Tuesday, 22 May 2012


"Every day, industrial fishing fleets throw so many hooks into our oceans that the lines alone would wrap round the world 500 times”

(OCEAN OF LIFE: How Our Seas Are Changing by Callum Roberts)

Monday, 21 May 2012

Thursday, 17 May 2012


                              ...even the postcards have a nautical theme...

Wednesday, 16 May 2012

Saturday, 12 May 2012

Friday, 11 May 2012

"Your storage space will be in a box, dimensions - 50cm x 40cm x 26cm"

Thursday, 10 May 2012

                                ...as my journey draws nearer everywhere I see signs...

Wednesday, 9 May 2012


WHERE... am I going?

The caption for this image relates to recovered balloons after release. What happens to them when they float up and away, travelling for miles...